Motivation Monday – Knowing Who You Are

 

What do you want?  Do you get people asking you that question a lot?

At school?  At work?  At home?  With your life?

How do you answer them?  Are their questions things that you have thought about for yourself?

Well, I have been thinking about it all my life.  I have answers to the questions, I just never knew how to get there because there was no one supporting me or anyone there to give me advice.

How did I come up with the answers to these questions?

I simple had a conversation with myself.  I asked myself, what do I want? Where do I want to be?  How am I going to get there?  What am I willing to do to get there?

This would seem peculiar, but how else will you know what you want.

While I was studying for my first Bachelor’s I thought that when I started I knew exactly what I wanted to do.  It changed.  I had to really think what was the thing that excited me the most about what I could do with my skills along with my education.  Life wise, I thought about what I wanted.  The type of lifestyle, how I wanted to feel everyday of my life.  Was there anything that I felt was my purpose?

Those questions had me take a strong look at myself.  I found out what I wanted, who I was and that I was willing to work as hard as I needed to to get there.  This has led me down a path that has been rough but I can see it getting me closer to my goal.  It makes me proud. Not just to see the result of the work that I have done, but to see the change in me.

Your life is not your life if you don’t know what it is going to take to be excited about being a part of it.  Figuring it out is half the fun, then once you know, creating your own path and reaching that point no one can take it from you.

Now, this doesn’t mean that the one conversation in your twenties is the conversation you should base the rest of your life on.  It should be a starting point for each area of your life.  Once you become someones life partner, someone’s parent or you have reached the point of desiring to create something else that is extraordinary to you.

Never allow your life to be stagnant, stuck or complacent — or that you only figure it out because someone else asked what you want?

There is greatness in you and you have to know that.  You have to find it.  You have to know yourself.

#HappyMonday

Tell me your thoughts

