Beyonce “Slay” Slack

Always stay gracious, best revenge is your paper.

– Beyoncé (Formation)

beyonce-chris-martin-bruno-mars-superbowl

Beyoncé, Chris Martin (Coldplay) and Bruno Mars during the finale of the Super Bowl 50 half time show on Sunday, February 7th, 2016.

In one swoop Beyonce dropped a new single, did the Super Bowl 50 half time show with Coldplay and Bruno Mars AND dropped notice of a new tour featuring her soon to drop album.  In one 24 hour cycle.

Also in that 24 hour cycle she gained a lot of backlash for the video and lyrics to her new hit Formation.  

You know you that bitch when you cause all this conversation.

– Beyoncé (Formation)

From the beginning of her career Beyoncé has been targeted by the media and the audience.

original-destinys-child-new-550x430

LaTavia, Kelly, Beyoncé and LeToya of the original Destiny’s Child.

Some group rumors:

  • When LeToya and Latavia were no longer with the group it was because she was jealous.
  • When Farrah was removed it was because she didn’t like her.
  • The only reason that Destiny’s Child disbanded was because she wanted to be solo – just her.

Some solo career rumors:

  • She doesn’t write her own songs and then does not credit those who helped.
  • She could not survive the industry without her bandmates, her dad and her now husband, then significant other notoriety.
  • As her career has blossomed personally she has left her group members behind to struggle in the industry.
beyonce-crazy-in-love-ft-jay-z_7693284-1636_600x315

Beyoncé on the set of her video of Crazy In Love off her debut album Dangerously In Love.

Throughout being an artist for most of her life, hearing the gossip that has surrounded her name and her family, Beyoncé has always taken the gracious way of handling the situation.

By not giving the media anything to feed off of by irrationally responding.

In the past few years many have stated that celebrities have been ignoring the social issues  in many communities.  She has been one of those celebrities targeted.  Yet, many have not noticed that she has done many projects to help better the world for many people.  Stand Up To Cancer, Food Bank for New York City, Chime For Change are some charities.  She has also worked for such causes as bullying, disaster relief efforts, human rights, women’s rights and many more.  Beyonce also provided her song “I Was Here” to be used for the United Nations World Humanitarian Day in 2012.

Beyonce’s “Formation” speaks loudly about all the things that she is tired of and quietly working to help.  Everyone does not choose to exploit the good that they do.  She is tired of people talking about the fact that she chooses to have her child wear her hair in its natural state “I like my baby hair, with baby hair and afros.”  She is tired of people talking about  her being a part of a cult, because she has had the success that she has, that she sold her soul to the devil of sorts “Ya’ll haters corny with that Illuminati mess.”  Instead they need to comprehend that hard work pays off without having to lose yourself “Earned all this money but they never take the country out me.”

Blue-Ivy-Beyonce-Formation-Music-Video-Pictures

The ever gracious Blue Ivy Carter in her mommy’s video showing her beautiful baby hair and afro.

The visual of the video uses the work of The B.E.A.T from Abteen Bagheri’s 2014 SXSW that talks about New Orleans music and LGBAT culture.  Even that (credited work) that she was supporting, many tried to state that she used it without permission and as though it was her own.  Reports later confirmed that that was not true.

The media and those whom have watched have decided to make this the time to attack, disregard and try to humiliate her.  The Washington Post has a piece written by Jeff Guo where he states “After grief comes anger, and after anger comes action — and here comes a literal rallying cry from the queen of empowerment anthems,” then follows with “…it seems impolite, verging on ungrateful, to the point out the song’s strange contradictions.”  As Guo continues you “On “Formation,” Beyoncé sings as if hard work leads directly to success.  For black America, there is at best a vague correlation.”

I am an African American young woman.  I did not grow up in either of my parents household.  Yet, I took the chance on myself believed that I could pull myself out of the cycle and become something great.  I graduated high school at sixteen.  I have achieved two Bachelor’s degrees.  I have been working since I was fourteen years old.  I have a great job.  And I am currently contemplating going for further education for my career path.

Whether, Beyoncé’s stating “You might just be a black Bill Gates in the making…” is a fantasy, where does it say that creating an image in your mind of you being great, you not being a statistic is wrong.  If these things were not possible, if these thoughts were not placed in our heads then Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s I Have A Dream speech would not be of matter today.  Barack Obama would not have decided to take the step to run for President.  Every African American who has taken the time to go on to school to do something great would not have done so.

All of those boys who graduated from Morehouse to become men who are Lawyers, Doctors, Activist, Writers, Actors and more; when everyone may have assumed they would just be another black man doing nothing and stuck.  All the women who have gone on to become greats in the field like Michelle Obama, Mary McLeud Bethune, Leslie Wimes and many more.

Beyoncé is a music artist, who is taking her talent and creating art that imitates life to create awareness, to speak out and to get you to hear the message.  Like the work of Nina Simone, Marvin Gaye, Mahalia Jackson, Louis Armstrong, James Brown, Billie Holiday, Sam Cooke as well as others.  And even current artist such as John Legend, Nas, Common, 2Pac, Lupe Fiasco, Lauryn Hill and beloved Michael Jackson.

Business and being polite it doesn’t match.  I mean you can be fair, but me being polite was not me being fair to myself.

But I’m a human being.  I cry.  I am extremely sensitive.  My feelings get hurt and I get scared just like everyone else.

How do I continue to generous to my fans and my craft?  And how do I stay current?  But how do I stay soulful.  And it is the battle of my life.

When I first started out there was no internet people taking pictures of you and putting your personal life or exploiting your personal life as entertainment.  I think people are so brainwashed…all you think of is the picture and the image you see all day, everyday.  And you don’t see the human form.  And I – I think when Nina Simoné put out music you loved her voice, that’s what she wanted you to love.  That was her instrument.  But you didn’t get brainwashed by her day to day life…it shouldn’t influence the way you listen to the voice and the art.  But it does.

– Beyoncé (Life Is But A Dream)

Beyonce

Beyoncé during her interview for her HBO special Beyoncé: Life Is But A Dream (2013)

