Feature Friday Beauty and Black Beauty History

It’s Friday. Yay! The snow is gone here in New York (thanks to the rain) and the temperature has gone up for a little while.  And fashion week.  Can you imagine all the fabulously dressed people running around New York.  I mean that happens everyday but hey.

Any who.  Today is about me featuring some of my beauty faves that I purchased for the first time in 2015 and gladly brought with me in to 2016 and looking forward to continuing our relationship.  The foundations, Urban Decay Naked FoundationI am shade 12.0.  The other being NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation; shade Trinidad.  My new favorite foundation brush is Real Techniques Expert Face Brush.  It is my favorite tool, I am thinking about purchasing another on.  At the end of the day I need to get it all off.  I do that with my Neutrogena products.  I use the Neutrogena Makeup Remover Cleansing Towelettes to take off all of my facial products (foundation, blush, lipstick) and I use the Neutrogena Oil-free Eye Makeup Remover.  I use cotton pads and cotton swabs to make sure that I get it all.

In my opinion, these items are definitely keepers.  Maybe as long as Noxzema and MAC NW45 Studio Fix Foundation has been a keeper.

I purchased my items from Ulta, Sephora and Target.  I do not have the biggest budget for purchasing beauty products.  But these items that I have purchased are long lasting quality products.  And I am proud to be using them.

Black History In Beauty

Madame C. J. Walker is the first person that comes to people minds when they think of African American beauty.

But her story goes back further than that.  It goes to her days as sales woman for Poro, where she was also known as a “Poro Agent”.  She worked under Annie Malone.  Who this story in beauty is about.

164234

Annie Turbo Malone

Annie Malone is commonly known as the first African American Millionairess.  But before that she was one of the founders are the beauty and cosmetics in the country for African American women during the 20th century.

She was the daughter to former slaves who became an entrepreneur, philanthropist, and one of the wealthiest women, African American and Woman in her time — enough so to be dubbed an millionairess.  Her prized business was Poro College in St. Louis, Mo.  There, people could come to learn about the beauty industry, more so those of the community for the community.  In the beauty industry, the African American beauty industry she is considered the “mother”.

In the 1890’s her love for texture of hairs began.  During that time, straightening hair was popular.  She worked to discover new ways to straighten the hair without damaging it.  Once she found a formula that worked without damaging follicles and the scalp.  The building of her empire began.  Annie took her product on the road by hiring young women to be her Poro Agents.  Her success led her to creating orphanages, building schools, community centers and employing thousands of people.

AnnieMalone-PoroCollege

Poro College in St. Louis, MO.

Annie continued on with her life creating opportunities for others.  She chose to live her successful life by trying to help others be successful.  I find that to be amicable and a great influence to have.

Don’t know the legacy of Annie Malone, the teacher, the role model and former employer of thee Madame C. J. Walker who taught her all she knew.  Research.

 

Tell me your thoughts

