June 2015 Mini Book Haul

When you have a bad day, does getting your order of books make you feel better?

Mines did.  I was having a bad day, needing a reminder of why I was working so hard especially on my positivity.  These are just three of the books that I want to get this summer.

IMG_6169-1Leading Women: 20 Influential Women Share Their Secrets to Leadership, Business and Life

This book, I have had my eyes on for the past six months literally.  One did I did a big Barnes and Noble online shopping.  Every book I wanted I put in the cart.  Then I purchased what  I could, wrote down the rest for later.  This book was one.  It is a book about not waiting for things to happen or expecting things to happen especially from others but on my own.  These things I want done are for me.  I had to step up.  These women whose stories are used are stories of finding their way to get to where they wanted to be.  The hard work that made them leaders, influential and made them stand out from the crowd.  I am looking forward to getting in to this book.

IMG_6168-1Leave Your Mark

This book is a brand spanking new book.  It is quoted as “…isn’t an advice book — it’s a mentorship in 288 pages.”  Hello, that alone tells me that this should be good.  Another reason that I know it will be good is the author, Aliza Licht.  I know her as her twitter handle DKNYPRGirl, she is the first one that I followed when I joined twitter.  Crazy huh.  Now, I have her book.  I am looking forward to getting those bit of notes I wish I could get from an informal interview with her. Maybe, I’ll even balls us and ask for one…after I dig into this feed of course.  The back of the book has praise messages and my favorite is from Kelly Cutrone who says “LEAVE YOUR MARK will make you do more than that — it is an indispensable guide to success and celebration of the self.  Learn the rules then go ahead and break them!”  I am definitely getting her book too!!

IMG_6170The POWER Playbook

La La Anthony.  I first met her through my television screen as a VJ on MTV.  Yes, I said that.  Over the years I have watched her career and life take off.  She is a mother, entrepreneur, actress, wife, friend, sister, author and hell of a New Yorker and just as beautiful as she was when she first appeared on television.  I didn’t buy the book because of who the author is, but because I want to read what type of advice she has.  (And it’s signed)

I need to get out of my own head and hear out from some of those that I admire.  Their advice may help me push myself, see where I may be going wrong and the best way to possibly go.  It is like having girlfriends without having them right there.

So, now that I have told you about my mini haul.  Here is my question for you.  Have you brought any good books lately?  Do you have any books that I may be interested in reading?  Let me know.

Tell me your thoughts

