The Next Day “I’m A Graduate”

IMG_5786

I cannot believe it!  I graduated again yesterday!

All the hard work that I put in, it is all done.

The energy from yesterday, left me on a natural high.  There is nothing like seeing major results.  2,953 of us graduated yesterday.  5,000 totaled the graduating students from my college this year.  The humidity didn’t get any of us down.  There were beach balls, glitter, horns, Class of 2015 sunglasses.  What a day!  It was an outdoor party with Congressman, Basketball players and our Borough President as some of the speakers.  We took photos, photo bombed other people, made videos and got video taped.  Those two hours and thirty minutes went by faster than I thought it was.  There was no sign of rain any where.

I had my personalized cap and gown and sash on.  Yes, I embellished everything.  Everything that I used to decorate my stuff came from my new favorite store Michael’s.  I now have two programs with my name in them, announcing my being a graduate.  I’ll soon have two degrees in my personal belongings.  I’ll have one cap & gown that has experience both commencements with me.

The different stages of decorating my cap.

The different stages of decorating my cap.

I have the photos now.  Two separate years.  Two years of grad photos.  Two different ages.  Yet, my face almost looks like it paused in time.  There is a glow about me.  I love when I see that glow.  It means so much to me.  It is when I know that I am truly in real joy, happiness.

IMG_5722

My black and white photo of my view from my seat.  Such a great thing.

My black and white photo of my view from my seat. Such a great thing. 2,953 of us!

I had my one supporter.  Who let me know that she was immensely proud of me.  I thought that she was just going to make an appearance which would have been joyful enough for me, but she had balloons, flowers and a card.  She took me to lunch and gave me a gift.  She went beyond what I could have expected.  You could almost tell that I never was shown any acknowledgement before.  I didn’t know what I wanted to do, when she asked.  I didn’t have any clue about anything.  I just was glad that she was there.

I went to visit my sisters and cousins at my grandmothers house.  I needed to make sure that they saw me.  Not to gloat but for them to just see.  They were so excited to see me when they walked in.  The kids that I take care of at the daycare were happy and excited and confused at the same time.  They asked questions and I explained what happened that day.  There parents were happy to see that I had done that, accomplished my goal and showed their kids something positive.

It was an amazing day.  Even 24 hours later, it is still an amazing day.

The graduating class of 1965.  Those who could make it, did.  They were lively and celebratory of us.

The graduating class of 1965. Those who could make it, did. They were lively and celebratory of us.

Tell me your thoughts

