Senioritis…The Final Semester

87326496c42297b3b78f75d5ad2aa6c6Yes, I am in my final semester as a senior.  In weeks literally I will be finishing this Bachelor’s.  I have no clue what it will feel like to know I am finished for good…well until I can decide on a graduate program.  The semester has just begun and I am already feeling my senior status showing.  I move through crowds faster than those freshman that are lost or those groups who are all about smooth conversation and hanging on campus, while I am trying to get to my class so I can get off of campus.

Here I am working on assignments for professors, emailing them if I know I am going to be late or absent. Yeah, though it has just begun I have missed.  I had a reason.  I also know the best way to run through things.  I knew that the best time to get your ID validated is after the third week has started.  Tuition has been paid, you have become accustomed to your schedule and you know that the Student Center will not be full of students who have no clue as to what was going on.  You know everything that you learned throughout your first two years (or first year if you pay enough attention) shows strongly.

I will not lie.  I will be finishing my second bachelors and I know that I am still just as excited for graduation as I was when I graduated two years ago.  I am looking forward to buying my graduation ring.  I am looking forward to knowing that purchasing my cap and gown again with my sash for the Class of 2015.  I will even decorate my cap this town.  Yeah, I look forward to that.  LoL.

Senioritis, is normally when a student starts to slack on their studies while they are in school, right before graduation.  Why?  Because it doesn’t matter.  Well that is the idea when you are in the moment but it does have an effect later on.  That also depends on the studies.

Anyway, this is the time where the final process of working on your dreams happens.  You will either, be successful at the work you are trying to accomplish or you are going to fall (and get back up of course).  You must complete your studies on a good note.  Why would end on a high note, it almost makes no sense to end on a bad note if you have worked so hard during your other studies.

The final semester for me is not just about the cap and gown, or getting the program for graduation with my name in it.  But it is also the deadline for so many things in my life.  It is the deadline to start succeeding, moving and building.  This is why I started months ago.  This is why I know that no one can accomplish your goals besides yourself.

Senioritis to me is not about the laziness of it all.  It is not about the getting through the next twelve weeks by skating.  It is your final show.  It is your final chance to make an equation on campus.  Your finals are the comprehension of the entire set of lessons, but it is your icing on the cake.  Getting those grades for the final papers, for those final test and the final grade in general…speak volumes.

For now I will begin to say my final farewells to my campus.  I will enjoy my final walks as I go to my classes.

4680fd1b2e5773b8ccd98efcf5aa6590

My senioritis is also when I begin to say good-bye to someone to something that I have known all my life. That I will talk about at a later date.

4 comments

  1. Congratulations on reaching the final hurdle!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s exciting! Congrats on graduating! I just graduated as well, and am in the process of trying to figure out my life 😉 best of luck!

    Like

    1. Thank you. And congratulations to your graduating as well. It is so odd not being a “student” anymore, isn’t it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. YES!!!! I love it though. I have more time for myself and don’t constantly feel stressed. Right now I’m in the midst of grad school interviews though. So I have to go back! 😦 haha. It will be worth it for the career but NOT looking forward to more school!

        Like

Tell me your thoughts

