The Concept of NO

During my break, I had a conversation about me needing to say NO more.  I take so much on to myself because ‘People need me’ or ‘I can’t help but want to help others’.  Then I remember that is exactly why I slept so much this break as well.  I did not make myself just available to any and everyone when they wanted me to be.  I did not use my phone too much, except for casual conversation.  And if I did not want to do something.  I just did not do it.

The best part about the conversation is that I was having it with someone who hates to hear anyone say no to them.  They care enough for me to say ‘At the end of the day after you do all you can for others, how do you do for yourself?’  It was an odd question for that person to ask because they were asking me to do something that I did NOT want to do.  I guess that person got the point because in the middle of asking they said “Never mind”.  Now do not get me wrong I feel like their is nothing wrong with doing anything for people you care about, especially if it is something that they truly need help with.  Make sure that you are not being taken advantage of.  There is nothing worst but to do something for someone then when you call them for their expertise or assistance, they are unavailable.

Trust me, I know.

Though, I learned the concept of no last year, I need to practice it more in my daily life.

I am no good to building myself if I over work myself and end up in the hospital because I am taking care of everyone else.  I love myself too much — I need to start acting like it more.

The concept of no does not mean that you are rude, disrespectful, selfish, ungrateful or unreliable.  It just means that you know when to say yes and when to say no.  Saying yes is not something that should be done all the time.  It is not necessary for people to know that you love and care for them.  If they really know you, they know that you do without surrendering your whole being for it.

cba4bdc2764603ee8d41052fb7b7b804

Tell me your thoughts

