Baby, It’s Cold Outside

And I can’t stand it…

I was born in the summer and I like nice weather.  No, that doesn’t mean I like hot weather year round, I just don’t like freezing weather.  Like today.  I like autumn when it is just the right breeze, I like spring when the beautiful flowers are starting to bloom and grass is sprouting.  Of course I like summer though, hello.

But there is something that I like about cold weather.  The holidays.  I may not have had the best or easiest childhood growing up, but I knew the holidays would always make things better.  I would be able to leave my world and the things going on in my environment.  During the holidays I would watch Charlie Brown movies, watched every Disney movie that I could find and any movie that made the holidays seem like a great family time where all good things happened.

I was looking at one of my favorite blogs from over the weekend on The Southern Thing, and in her post What to do on Halloween when you don’t know what to do she wrote a state that one of the things you should do is Start planning for Christmas.  She is so right.  At this point things for Thanksgiving and Christmas have already been laid out in stores such as Target, Walmart and Pier1 (just Pier1 is one of my random choices) but also on shopping networks like HSN and QVC.

So here is my Christmas Wish List before I turn 30…which is coming faster than I hoped

  • See the Rockettes (yes I put it in my last post but I have never done it)
  • Ice Skating at Rockefeller Center
  • Walk through and take pictures in Central and Prospect Park (they are both amazing as the seasons change, especially when they are empty and covered in the purest white snow)
  • Have a meal and a frozen hot chocolate from Serendipity III (I have wanted to go there since I saw the movie Serendipity)
  • Take a picture at the Christmas Tree Lighting at Rockefeller Center
  • Serious wine tasting. I want to expand my palette plus I really want to get into red wine more.
  • Go see Wicked, Aladdin, New York City Ballet’s The Nutcracker (I want to see all of them in one winter)
  • Go in person to see the New Years Ball drop (that I’am still unsure about, but why not)

Yes, I was born and raised in New York but there are still things that I have not experienced yet.  I do not see me leaving my city anytime soon, so I am going to take full advantage.  Well I am going to try to.

I hope you all enjoy getting ready for the holidays and that you have an amazing winter.  We’ll keep chatting through it!

Tell me your thoughts

